Filter

  • All
  • Book search
  • Author search
  • Genre
  • View More
Verlockung

Temptation

Published by Diogenes as Verlockung
English Title: Temptation
Hungary between the wars. Bela has just escaped his village childhood, sleeping on straw and working for his supper. Now, at fourteen, he moves to Budapest to stay with his young mother, a woman as hungry for life as he is. His decision stands firm: he wants to leave poverty behind and conquer the fairytale world he is now getting to know as a lift boy in a grand hotel. When the mysterious wife of His Excellency rings for him one night, Bela thinks his hour has come.

General Fiction
992 pages
2016

978-3-257-24363-5

World rights are handled by Diogenes

Film rights are handled by Diogenes.

<
>
»So captivating that you’d like to devour these more than 800 pages in one single day? A ›gripping detective novel‹, as it is called in the first line? Well, yes. And a coming-of-age story? Also. An adventure, a popular tale like ›Simplicissimus‹. A proletarian version of ›Felix Krull‹. Bittersweet love comedy and pre-revolutionary pamphlet. This very entertaining read has something of it all.«
Volker Müller / Berliner Zeitung
»An incredible book!«
Elke Heidenreich
»This book can be read as a wonderful example of genre writing, in the tradition of Oliver Twist and Felix Krull.«
Fritz Göttler / Süddeutsche Zeitung, Munich
»A truly great novel that brings everything together: narrative force, social history, wit, anger, grief, love and idealism.«
Angela Wittmann / Brigitte, Hamburg
»So captivating that you’d like to devour these more than 800 pages in one single day? A ›gripping detective novel‹, as it is called in the first line? Well, yes. And a coming-of-age story? Also. An adventure, a popular tale like ›Simplicissimus‹. A proletarian version of ›Felix Krull‹. Bittersweet love comedy and pre-revolutionary pamphlet. This very entertaining read has something of it all.«
Volker Müller / Berliner Zeitung
»An incredible book!«
Elke Heidenreich
»This book can be read as a wonderful example of genre writing, in the tradition of Oliver Twist and Felix Krull.«
Fritz Göttler / Süddeutsche Zeitung, Munich
»A truly great novel that brings everything together: narrative force, social history, wit, anger, grief, love and idealism.«
Angela Wittmann / Brigitte, Hamburg
Expand all
Retract